A city company has received a prestigious national award for the specialist work carried out on historic buildings.
Norman and Underwood Ltd were presented with the top award at the 2015 UK Roofing Awards held at the Hilton Metropole in London in recognition of the copper roof installation installed at the Northumberland Observatory at the University of Cambridge built in 1838.
The company, who celebrates its 190th year in 2015, has been at the forefront of delivering high quality, innovative restoration projects across the United Kingdom from its City base for many years and is committed to promoting traditional techniques of this type.
Norman and Underwood and their team of bespoke craftsmen were chosen to undertake the month long project to remove and relay the copper roof structure on this historically important structure because of the skills and techniques retained within the business which were paramount when undertaking work of this type.
Shaun Ward, who received the award on behalf of Norman and Underwood said:
“the works carried out are to an extremely high standard of workmanship with all details being executed with the utmost care and attention it is one of the best examples of traditional copper works to a dome I’ve seen”
Norman and Underwood celebrated the result at its base on Scudamore Road.
Ross Headley, managing Director of Norman and Underwood, said:
“The award received is recognition of the years of dedication the company and its employees spend learning the skills and techniques that makes a project like this possible. It really is confirmation that we are at the forefront of the application of traditional skills and techniques and is a vote of confidence for this company”
“We are so proud of the hard work and dedication that our staff show when working on a project like this.
Norman and Underwood manufacture and install high quality hard metal roofing and aluminium glazing installation to the heritage and commercial construction markets across the United Kingdom.
A unique late 18th century church building and centre, St Nicholas Church standards at the southern entrance of the oldest part of Warwick. The present building was completed in 1785, replacing a decaying mediaeval church.
Norman & Underwood were contracted to replace the church pinnacles, repair the south elevation masonry, remove and install new sand cast lead gutter along the entire southern elevation, and to refurbish the stained glass windows back to their original design and colour.
This contract was unique in that we had to create the pinnacles with no supplied designs. Our aim was for visitors and churchgoers to appreciate what the building looked like when it was first constructed – and some very positive feedback suggests that this aim has been met.
Stoneywell Stables were used as a stable and laundry room for Stoneywell House, built as a summer home by Arts and Crafts architect-designer Ernest Gimson for his brother at Stoneywell in Leicestershire and now owned by the National Trust.
Norman & Underwood were required to refurbish the stables into the National Trust’s new visitor centre at the property. This extensive project needed to be carried out with the utmost sensitivity and to the Trust’s very high standards. This included installing electrical works, IT systems, public toilets, offices, a tea room for visitors and a fully operational kitchen.